List of Important Awards in India

Here is the list of all major Prestigious awards of India which are being conferred by the government of India. It can be classified in different categories. The broad categories of these awards are Civilian Awards, Gallantry Awards, Sports Awards and Literature Awards.
Indian Highest Awards (Civil)

The Bharat Ratna:

It is the highest civilian award of India given for exceptional work for the advancement of art, literature, Sports and science and in recognition of public service of highest order. Mother Teresa was the first naturalized Indian citizen of Bharat Ratna Award Winner in 1980

The Padma Vibhushan:

The Padma Vibhushan is given for exceptional and distinguished service in any field including service rendered by the government servants. It is classified into three kinds: (i) Pehla Varg; (ii) Dusra Varg; (iii) Tisra Varg.

The Padma Shri:

This award is given for distinguished service in any field including service rendered by the Government servants. Padma, meaning lotus in Sanskrit, and Shri, a Sanskrit-derived honorific equivalent to ‘Mr.’ or ‘Ms.’ (ie., “Noble One in Blossom”).

The Padma Bhushan :

This award is given for distinguished service of high order in any field including service rendered by Government servants.

Military/Gallantry Awards

Param Vir Chakra

The highest-decoration for valour, it is given for the most conspicuous bravery or some daring or pre-eminent act of valour of self-sacrifice in the presence of the enemy whether on land, at sea, or in the air.The name of the award means the “Wheel of the Ultimate Brave”.

Maha Vir Chakra:

It is the second highest decoration and is awarded for the act of conspicuous gallantry in the presence of the enemy on land, at sea, or in the air.

Vir Chakra:

Falling third in order of merit, it is given for the acts of gallantry in the presence of the enemy at sea, on the land or in the air.

Ashoka Chakra:

Class I, II and III. Now known as Ashoka Chakra, Kirti Chakra and Shaurya Chakra are awarded for acts of gallantry other than in the face of enemy. Class I is for the most conspicuous bravery of some daring or pre-eminent act of self-sacrifice or valour, Class II (Kirti Chakra) for high gallantry and Class III (Shaurya Chakra) for gallantry.

Members of the armed forces and civilians alike are eligible for this award.

Param Vishisht Seva Medal:

It is a military award of India. It is awarded in recognition of the distinguished service of the most exceptional order.  All ranks of the Indian Armed Forces including Territorial Army, Auxiliary and Reserve Forces, Nursing officers and other members of the Nursing services and other lawfully constituted Armed Forces are eligible for the award.

Literature awards

Jnanpith Award:

The Jnanpith Award is an Indian literary award presented annually by the Bharatiya Jnanpith to an author for their outstanding contribution towards literature.

Sahitya Akademi Award:

The Sahitya Academy Award is a literary honor in India,  which the Sahitya Akademi annually confers on writers of the most outstanding books of literary merit published in any of the major Indian languages.

Bhasha Samman:

Sahitya Akademy gives these special awards to writers for significant contribution to Indian languages other than the 24 major languages and also for contribution to classical & medieval literature.

Premchand Fellowship:

Named after Hindi writer Premchand, the fellowship was started in 2005. It is given to persons of eminence in the field of Culture from SAARC countries.

Sports Awards

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna:

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna is the highest sports award given for most outstanding performance in the field of sports in India.As of 2017, all Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna recipients will receive Rs. 7.5 lakhs in cash, a citation and a medal.

Arjuna Award:

The Arjuna Awards are given by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, Government of India to recognize outstanding achievement in sports. Started in 1961, the award carries a cash prize of ₹ 5,00,000, a bronze statue of Arjuna and a scroll.

Dyanchand Award:

The Dyanchand Award is given for lifetime contribution to sports development.This award is named after Major Dhyan Chand, an Indian hockey player who scored over 1000 goals during a career span of over 20 years.

Dronacharya Award:

Seeing the valuable contribution that coaches have in the sports field, the government of India decided to honour the coaches as well.Dronacharya Awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakh, certificate and statuette.Awardees are offered a cash prize of 5 lakh, certificate and statuette.


Get Higher Rank on Competitive exams!Download Entri App Now!

About Entri

Entri is an award-winning online platform which helps students to prepare for various competitive examinations and keeps them updated on various exam schedules. Practice question papers and mock tests for Kerala PSC, SSC CHSL, SSC CGL, IIT JEE Mains, NEET, KEAM, and Comedk are available for students to know where they stand and prepare accordingly. Doubt forums are also made available to students to provide a platform for them to interact with experts and clear all their doubts and queries. A suitable app to help you stand out in various competitions.

Entri wishes all the candidates the very best for the upcoming examination

  Kerala psc app

You May Also Like